Fat = Beautiful?

This  link is a series of photoshopped images of famous celebrities. However, they are about 75-100 lbs heavier in the images. But are they beautiful?

I had posted a comment on the site simply stating my opinion. I believe in fitness and eating right and that you should take care of your body and not let yourself go. I had said “I am sorry but i think that is disgusting. Being fat is not beautiful. It is unhealthy and not pleasant to look at. No one wants to see that. And those arent “curves”, there is a difference between “curves” and fat rolls.” I got A LOT of heat for that. Sure, call me ignorant or a bitch or an “anorexic twig” (not anorexic and THAT is thin-shaming, which i was thin shamed in the comment threads). It didn’t bother me because they are strangers who do not know me, nor have any understanding of how i think or what i believe. Now mind you, I was only voicing my OPINION. I have overweight friends/acquaintances. Do I condone the treatment of their body? No, but that doesn’t mean I wont talk to them when i see them.
I was called a Bitch, MANY times, simply for having an opinion that wasn’t popular.

In 1967, a group of 5 monkeys were placed in a cage, and in the middle, was a ladder leading up to food that was placed at the top. Every time a monkey went up the ladder to get the food, the scientists soaked all the monkeys with cold water. After a while, when a monkey would try to climb up the ladder, the rest of the monkeys would, well, beat the shit out of it. Later, one of the monkeys was replaced. It tried to climb the ladder and got the shit beat out of it by the other monkeys, it stopped climbing the ladder even though there was no evident reason not to, aside from the beatings. The second monkey was substituted and the same occurred. The first monkey participated in the beating of the second monkey. A third monkey was changed and the same was repeated. The fourth monkey was changed, resulting in the same, before the fifth was finally replaced as well.

What was left was a group of five monkeys that – without ever having received a cold shower – continued to beat up any monkey who attempted to climb the ladder.

If it was possible to ask the monkeys why they beat up on all those who attempted to climb the ladder, their most likely answer would be “I don’t know. It’s just how things are done around here.”

Does any of that sound familiar? It’s a lot like how society works today. Someone calls someone fat and disgusting, he gets ridiculed and everyone is at fault by association, So they beat the shit out of that person for calling the other one fat/disgusting. After a while, it becomes a social norm. Fuck up the person that called another one fat because thats not okay. We substituted “that’s not okay” with “everyone is beautiful” and told people “if you don’t believe everyone is beautiful then you are going to hell.”  (basically). So now, calling someone fat, automatically gets you an ass beating and the words “everyone is beautiful shoved in your face.”

In my case, I did what was natural and a human right, I voiced my opinion. People accustomed to the “fat is beautiful” thing, were (metaphorically) beating the shit out of me. Ask them why and they wont really have any other reason beyond “everyone is beautiful.” It’s what they were taught and it’s what they brainlessly believe.

If that’s the case, what makes us all better than those experimental monkeys? Nothing.

 

Leave a Reply

